Coachella Valley

The Coachella Valley is a large valley in Riverside County that extends approximately 45 miles southeast from the San Gorgonio Pass to the northern shore of the Salton Sea in Imperial Valley. It is 15 mines wide on average. The Coachella Valley is sometimes referred to as Greater Palm Springs and the Palm Springs Area because of the prominence and history of the city of Palm Springs.

Cities in the Coachella Valley include Cathedral City, Coachella, Desert Hot Springs, Indian Wells, Indio, La Quinta, Palm Desert, Palm Springs, and Rancho Mirage.

Unincorporated communities in the Coachella Valley include Bermuda, Thousand Palms, North Palm Springs, Thermal, and Mecca.

In spite of the desert climate, agriculture is a major industry in the Coachella Valley as well as Imperial Valley to the south.

The San Gorgonio Pass, located just to the north of the Coachella Valley, is the location of the San Gorgonio Pass Wind Farm where thousands of large wind turbines make it one of the largest wind farms in the county.


Historical Timeline - Coachella Valley