San Gabriel Valley

The San Gabriel Mountains are a mountain range located in northern Los Angeles County north of the San Gabriel Valley and also in western San Bernardino County. Arcadia and Sierra Madre are to the south. The Angeles National Forest and the Verdugo Mountains are located within the San Gabriel Mountains. The San Gabriel Mountains and the Angeles National Forest are the watershed areas for the San Gabriel River. The Antelope Valley, which includes the cities of Palmdale and Lancaster, is to the north. The Sierra Pelona Mountains are to the northwest. The highest peak is Mount San Antonio, also known as Mt. Baldy, which stands at 10,068 feet. Mount Wilson is another well-known peak which stands at 5,710 feet. The main road that runs through the San Gabriel Mountains is Angeles Crest Highway, State Route 2. It starts in La Canada Flintridge and ends just past Wrightwood near Victor Valley where it joins State Route 138. A second major road is the Angeles Forest Highway that starts about eleven miles northeast of La Canada Flintridge at its Angeles Crest Highway junction and ends near Acton. Mountain High and Mt. Baldy are two popular ski resorts in the San Gabriel Mountains.


San Gabriel Wilderness

The San Gabriel Wilderness is a wilderness area established by the U.S. Forest Service in 1968. The 36,118 acre area is locatedwithin the Angeles National Forest on the southern slopes of the San Gabriel Mountains and north of the San Gabriel Valley. The closest city is Pasadena which is to the south. Bear Creek Trail, Mt. Waterman Trail, and Devil's Canyon Trail all provide access.


Mount Baldy

Mount Baldy is a small unincorporated community in the San Gabriel Mountains in San Bernardino County. The community, also known as Mount Baldy Village and Camp Baldy, is located below Mount San Antonio, commonly referred to as Mount Baldy. The summit of Mount Baldy is 10,064 feet above sea level, making it visible from most of the San Gabriel Valley which is the eastern section of Los Angeles County.


Mount Lukens

Mount Lukens is the highest mountain in the City of Los Angeles standing at 5,074 feet. It is located at the west end of the San Gabriel Mountains providing spectacular views of La Crescenta - Montrose, most of the Crescenta Valley the Verdugo Mountains, most of the San Fernando Valley, and a large part of the Los Angeles Basin. On a clear day, the Santa Monica Bay can be seen. Mount Lukens is located within the Angeles National Forest in Los Angeles County. The best access from the south is from the Deukmejian Wilderness Park which is at the far north end of Glendale. The mountain  can be climbed any time of the year, but camping is not permitted.


San Gabriel Peak

San Gabriel Peak is a 6,164 foot mountain peak in the Angeles National Forest and San Gabriel Mountains located in northern Los Angeles County. San Gabriel Peak is northwest of La Canada-Flintridge and north of Pasadena.


Mount Wilson

Mount Wilson is a well-known mountain peak in the San Gabriel Mountains and the Angeles National Forest in north Los Angeles County. Mount Wilson is the site of the Mount Wilson Observatory which is an astronomical center with a 100 inch telescope. On a clear day, the Pacific Ocean and Santa Catalina Island are visible from the peak.


Mount Burnham

Mount Burnham is a 9,001 foot peak in the Sheep Mountain Wilderness area of the Angeles National Forest which is within the San Gabriel Mountains. It was named after Frederick R. Burnham who was one of the founders of the Boy Scouts. The mountain was originally named North Baldy Mountain.


Mountain High

Mountain High is a ski resort in the San Gabriel Mountains in north Los Angeles County, just west of the resort town of Wrightwood. It is the most visited winter resort in Southern California. Its elevation is from 6,600 to 8,200 feet. Lessons and rentals are available.


Mount Waterman

Mt. Waterman Ski Area

Waterman Mountain, commonly referred to as Mt. Waterman, is an 8,030 foot mountain and popular Southern California ski area in the San Gabriel Mountains and Angeles National Forest in Los Angeles County. Mount Waterman is located north of Pasadena, northeast of La Canada-Flintridge, and directly east of La Crescenta. A private ski resort has leased most of the mountain and provides services.


Placerita Canyon State Park

Placerita Canyon State Park is a California State Park in the San Gabriel Mountains in the northern part of Los Angeles County located north of San Fernando and Sylmar, and southwest of Santa Clarita. Placerita Canyon State Park preserves the site of the first documented discovery of gold in California which took place in 1842 and offers numerous hiking trails. The Tataviam Indians occupied the area for thousands of years before it was claimed by Spain and later by Mexico.


Chantry Flat

Chantry Flat is a major recreational area in the San Gabriel Mountains and Angeles National Forest, located approximately three miles into the Santa Anita Canyon, north of Arcadia and Sierra Madre. Chantry Flat offers a large number of picnic tables, restrooms, and barbeques, and is the trailhead for several historic trails including the 28.5 mile Gabrielo Trail. The Gabrielo Trail also has a trailhead to the west in Altadena.


Santa Anita Creek

Santa Anita Canyon

Big Santa Anita Canyon

Santa Anita Canyon, also known as Big Santa Anita Canyon, is a scenic canyon in the Angeles National Forest and San Gabriel Mountains. The canyon is located north of Sierra Madre and Arcadia in the San Gabriel Valley section of Los Angeles County where easy access is available. The creek within the canyon is known as Santa Anita Creek, and is part of the watershed of the Rio Hondo which flows from the San Gabriel Mountains through the Whittier Narrows to the Los Angeles River. The canyon is a popular place for hiking and viewing its streams, waterfalls, and other beautiful scenery, There are more than 40 miles of trails within Santa Anita Canyon.


Newhall Pass

The Newhall Pass, previously called the Fremont Pass and the San Fernando Pass, separates the Santa Susana Mountains from the San Gabriel Mountains. The pass links the Santa Clarita Valley to the San Fernando Valley and is the primary entry into the Greater Los Angeles Area from Santa Clarita. The Newhall Pass is located within Los Angeles County.


Big Tujunga Dam and Reservoir

Big Tujunga Creek

The Big Tujunga Dam, constructed in 1931, spans the Big Tujunga Creek, just northeast of Sunland, forming the Big Tujunga Reservoir. The Big Tujunga Creek is a major stream in Los Angeles County with its headwaters deep in the Angeles National Forest and San Gabriel Mountains. The stream flows for nearly 29 miles joining Little Tujunga Creek to form the Tujunga Wash near Pacoima in the San Fernando Valley.


Eaton Canyon

Eaton Canyon is a major canyon in the San Gabriel Mountains within the Angeles National Forest. It drains into the Rio Hondo River and downstream into the Los Angeles River.


San Gabriel River Bike Trail

The San Gabriel River Bike Trail is a 38 mile bicycle path along the San Gabriel River. It starts at the base of the San Gabriel Mountains, extends through the EI Dorado Park in Long Beach, and terminates at the Pacific Ocean in Seal Beach, Orange County.


Silver Moccasin Trail

Silver Moccasin Trail is a 53 mile trail that starts at Chantry Flat Recreation Area north of Arcadia in the Angeles National Forest and San Gabriel Mountains. The trail connects Mount Baden-Powell, Mount Burnham, Throop Peak, and Mount Hawkins. The trail Reaches to 9,399 feet on Mount Baden-Powell, just below the peak which is at 9,407 feet. The trail ends at Vincent Gap which is on the Angeles Crest Highway near Wrightwood.